The beginning of the Winter season

 My husband Luke is talented enough to get new job offers on a weekly basis!  This particular one (repairing dumpster bottoms) he accepted was alluring because he can do it at home and at his own pace.  Here I offer some before and after photos.

  

I have been weaving steady.  The blanket I posted last time is done ( as far as the weaving goes), in a record 10 days!

   
  
   
 
AND, I have beamed and threaded a new warp for some rugs.  My best warp job yet, it’s beautifully even.

When Luke cleaned out all his old bee hives we were left with quite a few pounds of old wax.  We have been practicing our candle making skills with this old wax, so we will know how to make beautiful candles when we harvest new wax.

  
First the molds get prepared with a wick and releasing agent.

  
Next wax gets melted in a double boiler.

  
Then the hot wax gets filtered through a clean old tee shirt into a Pyrex measuring cup.

  
Then it’s important that it cools down to 160 degrees.  Anything hotter will cause a lot of shrinkage, there will be a sink hole in the center of the bottom of the candle.

  
Here the wax has been poured into the molds, and will be left to solidify and cool for a couple of hours.

  
Some finished products.  Rise and rise again, until lambs become lions.  (The phrase I think of when I see my lion and lamb molds, from the Robin Hood movie with Russell Crowe).  

  
The bees had a cleansing flight on Christmas!  Luke said he received his Christmas wish.

The whole yard was a loud buzz!

  
I have also been puttering on my potholder rug loom, which has a new home in my upstairs studio.  Neutrals this time.

This entry was posted in Fiber arts, Honey bees and their products, Luke's doings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment