November 10, 2015

When we first starting building our house I did not want to be completely dependent on electricity for our basic needs,  I wanted non electrical options along side the average modern “necessities” like indoor plumbing, central heating, etc.   We have always heated with wood,  and    over the course of time we have set up another hot water system where water runs through a copper coil inside our wood furnace then the hot water goes up to be stored in a separate tank, from there it can be used throughout  the house.  We have an antique wood cook stove we can cook on, bake in the oven, and heat water in stock pots.  Our newest addition has been a compost toilet.  Situated right next to a traditional toilet it works great in emergency situations including when ones significant other is hogging the other toilet.

   
   
The really cool thing about this particular toilet is that it was built completely of recycled material.  The wood came from tearing apart old pallets, the seat was given to me at a yard sale, the nails and screws came from cleaning a family members shed, and the toilet paper holder, well… he was good eating. 

   
 
The latest update on the latest blanket coming off the loom.  On the finishing floor almost ready to be hemmed and washed.  The coloring reminds me of a night sky.

  
A snap shot of my newly refurbished studio space.  I painted the last wall I never seemed to get to, repainted the floor, put up a lot more shelving, and Luke wired the chandelier that a friend gave me to scrap!  This is only the beginning, I have big plans that include a lot of paint. More photos as this project develops.

   
   
A couple of very successful recipes.  I have got my meat and potatos only husband eating roasted vegetables and goat cheese!  The top two photos (which are shown in reverse) of roasted vegetables included potatoes, turnips, sunchokes, brussel sprouts, winter squash, parsnips, and onions.  Roasted in oil and vinegar, salt and pepper, for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees.  It tasted divine!  The last photo is my home made crackers and chèvre that I mixed in craisins, oranges, cinnamon and sugar.

This entry was posted in CSA, Fiber arts, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment